UA-76843172-1

Facebook’s account ownership makes students cautious about what they post on social networks

Facebook has been involved in a bit of controversy over a recent change to their terms of use.

The site attempted to consolidate and simplify all the sites dos and don’ts to one page. Included in the consolidation, was an update to the User Content section.

The revision stated Facebook was allowed to use user information for as long as they wish, and for any purpose. The popular networking site also stated that it archives everything, so once an account is deleted, Facebook still has access to all information.

“It does worry me that they will be holding onto all of my information, however, I can understand their point of view to keep such information to help benefit them as a company”, stated sophomore John Loomis, a political science major, who may consider a future job in politics.

Users fear Facebook will use incriminating photos or information against them, but the site assures its users that they will do no such thing.

“It’s absurd, too invasive.” Said senior Erik Gölden, adding that he will be deleting his account after spamming all of his friends’ walls.

The site’s growing population has increased the amount of spam causing many members frustration.

Senior Jackie Pellish shared the feelings of many, saying that the new policy was a “violation of privacy”.

Many students were unaware of the change, but once informed showed similar outrage. Following torrents of backlash, Facebook reverted to their original terms of use policy, but are going to revise the policy until all are happy.

Facebook has always claimed rights to users photographs; anyone using the site as primary photo storage should consider an account with Flickr, a photo storage site owned by Yahoo! that grants all rights to the user.

The new rules were meant to mirror the sites behavior, such as posting on someone’s wall; there are two copies of that post, one you wrote, and one on the other person’s wall.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg stated that it isn’t their intention to profit off of user content, but instead to use it “in connection with the Facebook service or the promotion thereof”.

There is no intention to exploit user information, and if you set privacy preferences, the company, by law, must honor these preferences.

The site is working to clarify its terms. Facebook always factors in its users feedback, which will aid them in an agreement that will suit all users.