Heather Madara
News Writer

On October 17, 2013, the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) voted in favor of extending twelve university presidents’ contracts. Those involved in the process were the PASSHE Board of Governors as well as the Chancellor, Mr. Frank T. Bogan.
These extensions will last through June 30, 2016 and include Millersville’s own newly inaugurated President, Mr. John M. Anderson.
Due to recent legislation increasing tuition fees for all PASSHE universities in the spring of 2013, these presidents are also eligible for salary increases this year for the first time since 2010.

Also receiving extensions are:
• David L. Soltz, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
• Michelle R. Howard-Vital, Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
• Karen M. Whitney, Clarion University of Pennsylvania
• Marcia G. Welsh, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
• Julie E. Wollman, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
• Michael A. Driscoll, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
• F. Javier Cevallos, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
• Michael Fiorentino Jr., Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania
• Francis L. Hendricks, Mansfield University of Pennsylvania
• John M. Anderson, Millersville University of Pennsylvania
• Cheryl J. Norton, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
• Greg R. Weisenstein, West Chester University of Pennsylvania.

Two presidents who did not receive extensions were Ms. Geraldine M. Jones of California University of Pennsylvania and Dr. Jody Harpster of Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania as both individuals are acting as interim presidents until the position is filled permanently.
PASSHE university presidents are expected to “serve the university and its constituencies through leadership in the development and communication of a broad institutional vision for achieving excellence.”
Annual reviews by the Board of Governors of university presidents are conducted in addition to triennial reviews, both of which evaluate the ability and efficacy of the university executives. The presidents themselves are required to submit self-evaluations detailing “achievement of, or progress toward achieving, the goals and objectives that were agreed upon by the Chancellor, the Chair of the Council of Trustees, and the President at the beginning of the evaluation period.”
The PASSHE universities offer the lowest-cost of four-year baccalaureate degree programs in the state and include Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock and West Chester Universities of Pennsylvania.