UA-76843172-1

Your favorite snacks are actually vegan

Emily Hepner
Features Writer

Today’s consumer world is more conscious of what they are buying than ever before. Having a recycling bin in households is just as common as having a trashcan and some cars are now environmentally friendly by running on electricity as opposed to gasoline.

This socially conscious effort has expanded into people’s dietary efforts through the conscious decision to not eat meat, known as vegetarianism, or veganism, which refers to not eating or buying any animal products, which includes dairy and eggs and for some, no honey.

Being a vegetarian can be difficult, especially when going out to eat, but adhering to a vegan diet is particularly challenging. Since vegans don’t eat dairy products this eliminates a lot of options, from dressings for salads and sandwiches to decadent baked goods. However there are some surprising snacks that people eat everyday that they don’t know are actually, unintentionally vegan.

Milk’s favorite cookie is actually vegan. The creme-filled center is still delicious without the use of eggs or dairy.
Milk’s favorite cookie is actually vegan. The creme-filled center is still delicious without the use of eggs or dairy.

1. Oreos
Believe it or not “Milk’s favorite cookie” is made without milk and other dairy products. As UrbanSpoon.com says, “that ‘creme-filled’ center doesn’t really mean anything.” That may be, but that famous filling is still delicious without using the dairy and egg products that typically give creme fillings their fluffiness and flavor.

2. Duncan Hine’s Creamy Home-Style Frosting
Chocolate, Classic Vanilla, French Vanilla, Buttercream and many other of their tasty frostings are actually vegan. Not to mention that nearly all of its cake mixes are vegan and are able to be made without the use of eggs and dairy products.

3. Betty Crocker’s Bac-O Bacon Flavored Bits
If you read this one carefully, it does say, “bacon flavored,” which alludes to the fact that they aren’t real bacon bits. However most “bacon flavored” food items still have some sort of mystery meat in them. This one is great for former bacon-lovers who switched over to the no-meat lifestyle and are missing their favorite salty snack. According to one reviewer on Yahoo’s Voices page, it adds “a crispiness that might be missing from salads, casseroles, potatoes and anywhere else you may have used bacon.”

4. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
This is, yet again, another surprise vegan treat due to the fact that these rolls have a very buttery taste before any butter is even spread. But according to the Huffington Post, it is actually a number of vegetable oils that attribute to the to that delicious buttery flavoring.

When you think of doritos, you may imagine their cheesy goodness. However, the Spicy Sweet Chili flavor is made without cheese or whey.
When you think of doritos, you may imagine their cheesy goodness. However, the Spicy Sweet Chili flavor is made without cheese or whey.

5. Doritos: Spicy Sweet Chili
This one may not be as big as surprise since it is not a dairy flavored chip, like Nacho Cheese and Cool Ranch, but this one also isn’t made with whey. This is an important protein that can be found in a lot of foods, such as Vanilla Wafers. Whey is not a vegan option because it is the watery part leftover after the milk curdles.

Those are just some of the foods that are surprisingly vegan, but there are many more to be discovered. For more information on foods that are vegan, check out PETA’s lengthy list of foods that you can buy at your local grocery that they have deemed “accidentally vegan.”