Three police officers sworn in at Millersville

Photo courtesy of Millersville University.

Jared Hameloth
Staff Writer

Three officers were commissioned to the Millersville University Police Department on Sept. 14 in the Biemesderfer Concert Hall. Officers Jordan Byrnes, Samantha Kaufman and Jerome Lomax were sworn in surrounded by friends and family with their badges pinned by president John Anderson and Chief of Police Peter Anders. 

In an email interview with Officer Peter Anders, he seemed very enthusiastic about the new hires. “Our tradition of badge pinning and oath of office represents the core values of commitment, honor, integrity and service to our community,” he said speaking about the ceremony. Chief Anders takes pride in Millersville’s recent recognition by Safewise for being one of the safest school towns in the country, saying “this ceremony is also a chance for each of the officers in the department to affirm they chose an honorable profession and their commitment to engage our community in a caring manner and to protect the lives of others.” 

This brings the department’s staff up to ten officers: three sergeants and seven officers on the three patrol shifts. Anders said that there are still three openings for officer positions. Applicants need their Act 120 police certification to be hired, and after hire go through a 10 to 12 week field training program, with a week of Crisis Intervention Training within the first six months. The close-nit ceremony, the hiring requirements, and the extensive training of the Millersville University Police Department all contribute to the safe and homely environment at Millersville University. We all welcome the new officers and thank the entire department for their commitment to a safe campus and town.